Kids with Better Verbal Abilities More Likely to Drink

This is interesting, v e r y interesting. This study saysAlcoholic Beverages

that smarter kids are more likely to be hitting the bottle than older kids. Although the smarter kids will also be more likely to be able to control their drinking.

When I was growing up it seemed to me it was the less intelligent kids who spent their weekends stumbling from party to party. I remember a number of times when classmates talked about their drinking, how they managed to buy or steal alcohol, usually beer. I also remember one time when a classmate skipped gym class because he was still ‘loaded’ from the weekend.

I always thought I was one of the smarter guys in my class. Maybe I wasn’t. I’ve been drunk less than a dozen times in my entire life and got drunk only a couple times before I graduated high school. I thought one of the reasons I had little interest in drinking was because I was too smart to get drunk. Maybe I just wasn’t smart enough to have any idea what was going on.

I was only 11 the first time I got drunk. I didn’t know I was drunk, nor did anyone else. It wasn’t until years later that I realized I had been drunk. It was a rainy day. I was watching TV with the new kid in the neighborhood, at his house. We went downstairs and he showed me his dad’s new bar. We opened the refrigerator. There must have been a couple dozen different bottles in it.

My friend handed me a glass and, acting like a suave and debonaire playboy said, “Help yourself.” I mixed five or six different liquids (like I’d seen adults doing on TV) and downed the entire glass. It didn’t taste like anything I’d ever had before, but it didn’t taste bad either. A few minutes later his mother called down to us, saying it was time for me to go home.

I went home, fell asleep immediately, slept right through dinner and didn’t wake up until it my mom woke me up to start getting ready for school the next morning. We all thought I’d just been really tired.

So maybe the study was right after all where I’m concerned.

Kids with better verbal abilities more likely to drink, study finds | GlobalPost.

http://robbterranova.com/?p=507

Leave a Reply

