Writing Is Not Easy

http://i0.wp.com/robbterranova.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/snoopy-writing-is-hard-s.jpg?fit=1024%2C1024

Writing is difficult. Writing is hard. Sometimes I don’t feel like writing. I know I have to do it. Asnoopy - writing is hard writer is not a writer if he or she does not write. Sometimes, though, actually almost all the time, everything about me rebels at the thought of sitting down, putting a pen or pencil in my hand or pulling up a keyboard and making my fingers push my thoughts on paper or a computer screen. There is always something else that needs to be done: dishes need washing, housework needs to be done, attention needs to be given to the dog, a letter (email) has to be read, a letter (email) has to be written, a bill needs to be paid, etc., etc., and etc.

This is one of those days. In fact, every day is one of those days. It’s never easy dragging my heart and soul out and showing them to the world. I know there’s a good chance when I’m finished I will be thinking, that was stupid or they’re not going to like that or I’m sure that’s the last thing of mine they’re over going to read or etc., etc., and etc.

Still, I know if I don’t do it, I might never do it. Those bills can wait, the dog can wait, the housework isn’t going anywhere; but the words I am going to put on paper, the ideas I am going to dredge up out of my heart and soul might never be there again if I don’t sit down and force myself to uncover them.

I thought if I made a schedule that would make it easier. In a sense it does. I have a direction of sorts when I start. I know that after I finish this blog post I will be rolling, I will be in the mood and it will be easier to work on one of the many, many stories waiting to be finished. This blog starts my day, but even with a schedule there is still the pain, agony, and potential for heartbreak that faces me every time I say, ‘Time to write something.’

The thing is I rarely feel inspired when it’s time to start. While inspiration often hits me at unusual moments: when I’m making a left turn, when I’m trying to decide which yogurt flavor to buy, when I’m sitting in the doctor’s office, when I’m eating dinner, and so on – real inspiration occurs when I’m writing. That little boy I’ve got rolling down a hill after Jill threw a bucket of water at him, what if he rolls into a hole and disappears, what if he keeps rolling and rolling and rolling up and over another hill, what if it’s winter and that water freezes solid, what if… what if… and how about that? That’s crazy, that might just work, that is a great idea. I’m glad I thought of it.

None of that will happen if I don’t ignore the feeling that I’m not inspired, that I have nothing worth writing about, that I’m wasting my time and get started. It’s always the first word that’s the hardest, but once that’s done it’s sometimes amazing how many line up and follow it. That’s when writing becomes fun, after that first word. So, that’s what I did today. I started with that one word: Writing…

http://robbterranova.com/?p=571

Leave a Reply

