An Average Number of Words Is a Good Goal

J.K. Rowling quoteSometimes when reading one of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter books, I feel like the writer was in a hurry. I don’t mean that in a bad way. It sometimes feels like she wasn’t able to write fast enough to keep up with her characters. It seems they’re always on the move and that even though they eat, sleep, study and so on, they don’t have time for anything that takes so much time.

It’s a good feeling when the ideas come so fast that no matter how fast I type, I’m unable to keep up. Of course, when I set that particular group of words – 500 or a thousand or more – aside, I often find when I return to them they are not that good and if I’m lucky I won’t throw away more than 75% of them. Even so, that’s a lot better than when I spend just as much time struggling with a hundred or so words, that will eventually be reduced to 30 or less. In the end, it all evens out. An average number of words is always a good overall goal.

http://robbterranova.com/?p=1004

Leave a Reply

