The National Toy Hall of Fame

http://i1.wp.com/robbterranova.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/National-Museum-of-Play.jpg?fit=1024%2C1024

Rochester, New York looks like a fun place to live. Not only does it have numerous film related events (it’s the home of Kodak), and the Finger Lakes nearby, but it also has a great toy museum, National-Museum of PlayThe National Museum of Play. With 150,000 square feet of exhibits and hands-on displays including a carousel and an area dedicated strictly to monopoly you’re likely to have as much fun as your children, and maybe more.

As if that isn’t enough, the museum includes the only year-round butterfly garden. I’ve been to other butterfly gardens. One of my favorite moments was when a butterfly landed on my left eyebrow. I almost squished the poor thing because I didn’t realize it was there. All I knew was that something was tickling my eyebrow. Just as I was raising my hand, my daughter saw it and said, “Dad, stop. Don’t move.” She tried to get a picture of it, but the thing flew away just as she snapped the picture. All she got was a funny picture of me looking up toward my left eyebrow.

Up on the second floor is the National Toy Hall of Fame. Although you might never visit the museum you can take part in shaping the Hall of Fame. This year two toys are going to be added from a list of twelve:

Bubbles
Chess
Clue
Fisher-Price Little People
Little Green Army Men
Magic 8 Ball
My Little Pony
Nerf Toys
Pac-Man
Rubber Duck
Scooter
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

National Museum of-PlayYou can go to the site and vote for your favorite. I was happy to see that the Hula Hoop was already in. Maybe that proves it’s not a tool of witchcraft.

You can also take a tour of the National Museum of Play thanks to Google Maps.

I voted for the Magic 8-Ball because I thought it deserved a chance to get at least one thing right (it looks like a long shot, though). One toy on the list was a ‘most likely’ because I think there are more people on the Internet who ‘seriously’ played with it. You can probably guess which one that is, but go ahead and vote for your favorite. Again, two toys are going to be chosen. I’m curious, though, which one did you vote for, and why?

http://robbterranova.com/?p=1028

Leave a Reply

