Review: Food Rules

Food Rules: An Eater's ManualFood Rules: An Eater’s Manual by Michael Pollan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book isn’t a children’s book. There are a number of pictures in it, but it’s not a Picture Book, nor is it Middle Grade or Young Adult. However, it is a book with rules that if adopted, can help reduce the growing obesity epidemic in the U.S.

Another book by Michael Pollan about food. Actually, this book is about eating. Its 83 rules that form an “eater’s manual’ of healthy living.

Not all that long ago I was 60 pounds overweight. I was pre-diabetic and probably only a feather away from being Type-2. Over the next four years I made up some rules for myself, lifestyle changes, diet changes; but I never “went on a diet.” It took four years, but slowly – roughly a pound a month – I lost that weight.

I picked up this book after hearing an NPR interview with Michael Pollan. I was happy to see most of the ‘rules’ I devised for myself (actually found in other things I read and thought they were a good idea).

The book is easy reading, probably can be read in an hour or two, but if you have no rules for eating and are more overweight than you want to be, it might be better that you mull over this book. Find some rules that you think will work for you and stick to them. Two I highly recommend: “Serve a Proper Portion and Don’t Go Back for Seconds” and “Avoid Products that Contain High Fructose Corn Syrup” and #42, “The Whiter the Bread the Sooner You’ll be Dead.” I know, that’s three, but it’s not just a good rule, it’s also funny and true.

I found one rule to add to my personal collection: #73, “Do All You’re Eating at a Table.” I eat most of my meals while sitting at a computer. I don’t think I notice the flavor as much.

I’m sure if you read this book you’ll find a number of rules that you’ll want to apply to your lifestyle and become healthier.

View all my reviews

http://robbterranova.com/review-food-rules/

Leave a Reply

