Review: Stargirl

Stargirl (Stargirl, #1)Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

At first glance I thought Stargirl was going to be just a silly high school romance story and in some ways it was, but in many ways it wasn’t.

I decided to read it because I’d heard that Jerry Spinelli was an excellent writer and that this was one of his best books.

The title character, Stargirl, is a quirky, free spirit who plays a ukulele, sings happy birthday to other students, loves everyone, wants everyone to be happy, but wants to find a boyfriend.

She thinks she’s found him in Leo Borlock. Her quirkiness attracts him, but then turns him away. In fact, Stargirl turns everyone away when she dashes across the court at a boys’ basketball game to help an injured player from the other team.

I think if I were in middle school and a new student as quirky as Stargirl showed up, I’d be interested in her, too, but just as Leo does at the beginning, I’d keep my distance after all, who knows what someone as weird as Stargirl might do.

This Middle Grade novel is likely to keep you on Stargirl’s side, wanting the best for her, wanting her to succeed and wishing you knew someone like her when you were in middle school.

View all my reviews

http://robbterranova.com/review-stargirl/

Leave a Reply

