Looking at an Unusual Search Engine: Seenapse

 

I’m not sure what to make of a new search engine’ an inspiration engine, which is still in it’s infancy: SeenapseSeenapse, . Right now, it might not be better than Google for what it does – brainstorm and draw associations – but as the database grows, I’m told and its algorithm improves it will get better and improve at drawing unusual combinations.

As a writer it could help my creativity – with scene building, character development, and idea generation. so far I haven’t done much more than scrolled through it, glancing at available topics such as Glengarry Glen Ross, which is also linked to Coffee for Everyone which is linked to Metropolis and Class war, Origami, Cigarettes, and Iggy & Tom; another topic God which is linked to There, There by Radiohead, which is also linked to Ponyo, John Lennon, and This is a letter from god to Man; and a final topic out of hundreds Marimba which was linked to Dogs playing poker.

The founder of Seenapse, Rafael Jimenez, posted a video http://youtu.be/LXdvTuhxnMU giving an example of how Seenapse can be used. It was aimed at business brainstorming, so it didn’t really make much sense to me.

It seemed the only way to get a taste of what Seenapse does was to search for something. So, I searched for Writing Poetry. My results were fairly extensive. This is what my initial screen looked like.

poetry search results
So I had four Exact matches and ten approximate matches. I chose Random Poetry, because it looked interesting, but didn’t really like any of the results.
Search result: Random Poetry
I checked each of the other associations, but nothing happened until I saw the association Enjoy the silence and a poem began forming almost immediately.

The noise of Charles Bukowski
the whisper of William C. Williams
the cacophony of e. e. cummings
the rumblings of Walt Whitman

listen to your breathing
hear the beat of your heart
heed the touch of your soul
enjoy the silence

The words will find you
falling from your pen
like wisps of thought
to form this poem

That’s the first draft it doesn’t feel finished. They rarely do, even when I think they are. Later I see they are not. I believe Walt Whitman spent his entire life writing and rewriting his poems and even after they were published, he was still rewriting them.

Tomorrow or the next day I’ll look at it again and I’ll also play with Seenapse again.

http://robbterranova.com/looking-unusual-search-engine-seenapse/

Leave a Reply

