What Every Baby Wants: Metallica Lullabies

A few months ago I became a grandfather. Lately I’ve been watching for gifts Lullaby Renditions of  Metallica Songs(Christmas is coming up, first birthday next year, etc). I stumbled across an album of Lullaby music, rearrangements of Metallica songsRockabye Baby! Lullaby Renditions of Metallica. At first glance this seems extremely stupid, but after a closer look it just seems… well, potentially dangerous.

If you have a baby and you’re tired of singing the child to sleep (or in some cases humming) the child to sleep with the same old tunes, you might want to invest in Metallica Lullaby’s. A recording of 11 Metallica songs rearranged into what are advertised as “soothing” lullabies.

That’s the key word. It seems unlikely that anything by Metallica could ever be considered soothing, except for a person suffering some sort of psychotic or neurotic problem.

I listened to each of the 11 samples. Most of them did seem surprisingly soothing, but a few of them left me feeling tense or irritated. Trouble is, I have no idea if a baby would react in the same way and feel tense just as I did. In reading the Amazon reviews one family found that the music did not lull their child to sleep and the music was too creepy for one four-year old.

What surprised me was that this album isn’t the gimmick I thought it was (yes, I’d probably already know that if I had a baby around), but there are more than 15 other albums produced by the same company, Rockabye Baby. While listening to the samples for a couple of them (the Beatles album was quite pleasant), I felt like I was listening to elevator music.

Have you listened to any of these albums? What do you think?

http://robbterranova.com/2014/10/2073/

Leave a Reply

